Raise your awareness

Film Discussion Leaders


2022 / 2023

Meltdown In Dixie

September 21, 2022

Panel Profiles

Emily Harrold is a documentary filmmaker from Orangeburg, South Carolina. Her films have screened at festivals including the Tribeca Film Festival, DOC NYC and the Telluride Film Festival. Her short film Meltdown In Dixie, a TOPIC original documentary that is part of WORLD Channel’s America ReFramed Series, won the Academy Qualifying Best Short at the 2021 Big Sky Documentary Film Festival and has gone on to garner many awards including a 2022 dupont Columbia Finalist designation and a 2022 Silver Telly Award. Harrold produced the PBS American Experience documentary Flood in the Desert about the 1928 St Francis Dam Disaster, which premiered in May 2022. Her feature documentary directing debut, While I Breathe, I Hope about politician Bakari Sellers, won the documentary Audience Award at the 2018 New Orleans Film Festival, premiered on WorldChannel’s AfroPop series in 2019, and won a 2020 Southeast Region Emmy. Harrold is also part of the team behind Discovery’s Tigerland (Sundance 2019) and National Geographic’s Ron Howard-directed Rebuilding Paradise (Sundance 2020). She is part of DOC NYC’s 2021 40 Under 40 Class. Harrold is a member of Film Fatales, the Documentary Producers Alliance, and the collective The Filmshop. She is a graduate of New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts.

Beth Jasper is a filmmaker who began her career as the Unit Publicist on the film END OF THE LINE starring Kevin Bacon, Holly Hunter and Levon Helm. Following that film, she served as the Arkansas State Film Commissioner for then Governor Bill Clinton, working to bring films to the state. She has since worked as a producer on many films including her own documentary, The Devil’s Box: The Story of Texas Style Fiddling, with her husband Jason Hammond. Beth has worked as a film festival programmer for many years including Hot Springs Documentary Festival, Dallas Video Fest and BendFilm Festival. She currently serves as a member of the Board of Directors for Encircle Films.